The Châlet

In the second half of the 19th century, Prince Charles of Prussia commissioned architect Ferdinand von Arnim to build an ensemble of around 10 so-called Swiss houses in Potsdam / Klein-Glienicke. Situated in the idyllic vicinity of woodlands, meadows and brooks, it still recalls the Zeitgeist of reverence for all things Swiss common to that period. The Parkchâlet replaces one of the Swiss houses that were destroyed during construction of the Berlin Wall. It is located at the base of Mount Böttcher, in the forest-like foothills of Glienicker Park, amidst the stunning beauty of the UNESCO World Heritage site. Three parks and palaces are in the direct vicinity and the centre of Potsdam, as well as additional palaces and gardens, new art museum Barbarini and Berlin are all quick to get to.

The Parkchâlet building has adopted the cubature and important design features of its predecessor. These comprise the building’s slate roof, all round balcony, colour scheme and distinctive chimneys. Back then, Carl was eager to achieve the look and feel of an alpine-like structure. With these picturesque buildings and a landscape carefully designed to be in harmony with them, the prince created “his perceived Switzerland”. In contrast to the former building, the present structure has large windows, which let in light, nature and surroundings. The interior and exterior flow into one another, elegantly crafting both a stimulating and peaceful ambience, in which one is invited to leave all one’s cares behind.

An announcement from 1864 states, “In the newly built, romantically situated Swiss Houses in Klein Glienicke near Potsdam, there are still several elegantly furnished apartments available to hire.”

Due to the fall of the Berlin Wall the Parkchâlet was once again able to take up position on its historic site, or more specifically, to be erected anew. The picturesque surroundings haven’t altered till today and by continuing the rental tradition, we would thereby make it accessible to a great many people.

Regardless whether your reason to seek lovely accommodation for the short-term or a holiday is professionally or privately motivated, we look forward to your registration enquiry.

Short Term Accommodation

Das Parkchâlet Potsdam

  • In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts ließ Prinz Carl von Preussen vom Architekten Ferdinand von Arnim ein Ensemble von circa 10 sogenannten Schweizerhäusern in Potsdam/Klein-Glienicke erbauen. In idyllischer Wald- Wiesen- und Bachlage erinnern sie bis heute an den damaligen Zeitgeist der Schweizverehrung. Das Parkchâlet ersetzt eines der durch den Mauerbau verlorenen Häuser. Es liegt am Fuß des Böttcherberges, in einem waldartigen Ausläufer des Glienicker Parks, inmitten des wunderschönen Unesco Welterbes. Drei Parks und Schlösser sind direkt drumherum und das Zentrum von Potsdam, sowie weitere Schlösser, Gärten, das neue Museum Barberini und Berlin sind schnell zu erreichen.

Das Parkchâlet nimmt die Kubatur und wichtige Gestaltungsmerkmale des Vorgängerbaus auf. Gemeint sind das Schieferdach, der umlaufende Balkon, die Farbigkeit und die markanten Schornsteine. Carl ging es damals um die Anmutung eines alpin aussehenden Gebäudes. Mit diesen malerischen Bauten und einer dazu im Einklang gestalteten Landschaft hat sich der Prinz “seine gefühlte Schweiz” erschaffen. Das heutige Haus hat im Gegensatz zu früher große Fenster. Diese lassen Licht, Natur und Umgebung herein. Innen und Aussen fließen ineinander und schaffen eine anregende wie beruhigende Atmosphäre, in der die Seele baumeln kann.

1864 wurde annonciert, “In den neu erbauten romantisch gelegenen Schweizerhäusern zu Klein Glienicke bei Potsdam, sind noch einige elegant eingerichtete Wohnungen zu vermiethen…”

Durch den Fall der Mauer konnte das Parkchâlet an seinem historischen Standort wieder, beziehungsweise neu entstehen. An der malerischen Lage hat sich bis heute nichts geändert und so möchten wir an der Vermietungstradition festhalten und diesen wunderbaren Platz für viele Menschen zugänglich lassen.

Egal, ob Sie aus beruflichen oder privaten Gründen eine schöne Bleibe auf Zeit suchen oder Ferien in Potsdam machen, Ihre Anfragen sind uns willkommen!